Rabbit Rabbit

I was greeted this morning by an enthusiastically hungry MDawg.

Nom nom nom.

Ever have one of those days where you’ve got a TON to do, but none of it involves leaving your house or even getting off the couch? That’s me today.

On the agenda:

  • Pay bills
  • Work on getting blog things in order
  • Plan meals for the week
  • Grocery shop
  • Make schedule (possibly switch to Google Calendar?)
  • Finish reading Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children for my first YA book club meeting tomorrow

Being an English major properly prepared me for finishing up the last 200 pages of a book at the 11th hour.

I started my day off right with some Oikos, raw rolled oats, Naturally More PB, and grapes. I MUCH prefer Oikos to Chobani these days. The texture is fluffy and smooth. It’s like eating dessert.

Total breakfast calories: ~337
And an undisclosed amount of coffee with stevia.

Let’s talk a little about what happens tomorrow: Day 1 of Body Revolution.

^What I will look like in 90 days.

Body Revolution is set up kind of like P90X. It’s a 90 day program with a meal plan meant to maximize calorie burn and build muscle. It’s more realistic for me to do than P90X though because the workouts are never longer than 30 minutes. Jillian has you doing strength on most days and then a couple cardio workouts a week, but she encourages you to add in more cardio when you want to, which I inevitably will since I’m training for a race.

The program starts off with a “KICKSTART YOUR METABOLISM” week, which I am DEFINITELY going to skip. It has you doing two workouts a day and eating an extremely limited amount of calories. Besides the fact that I don’t think that’s very healthy, I don’t really believe in “cleansing” or “kickstarting my metabolism.” Plus, I know myself, and I know that a week of highly restricted eating and difficult workouts will make me want to kill someone and gnaw my own arm off.

I’m looking forward to jumping right in with the program as if I had already done the Kickstart Your Metabolism week. The workouts seem challenging and realistic, the meal plan seems satisfying and delicious, and I like the way Jillian encourages participants to drink water and find a buddy to hold them accountable. Alex is already excited about being a boot camp drill sergeant when it comes to my new fitness regiment. I’m pretty sure I heard him say “Chubby McChubberson” when thinking of things to call me while I work out.

Anyway, there are some things involved with Body Rev that I think are going to be great for me and that I’m looking forward to getting started with, but there are definitely some things that I don’t think are quite right for me.

What I Will Implement Into My Lifestyle with Body Rev:

  • Morning workouts. I’m going to try to get up at 6:30 on work days to do my strength before work. That way I can keep up my runs in the afternoon and I can start fulfilling my goal of becoming an (even earlier) early riser.
  • Clean eating. Jillian discourages junk, alcohol, and non-organic food.
  • Strength training! I hate strength training on my own, and having Jillian there with me the whole way is gonna be great.

Components of Body Revolution that Are Not For Me:

  • Jillian has a detailed list of “Yes” foods and “No” foods. This totally goes against my food philosophy. I’m a believer in moderation when it comes to almost everything, and Jillian’s “No” foods actually contain a lot of things that I think are good for you and that are staples in my diet, like peanuts, soy, and flax. There’s no way I’m going to stop eating peanut butter (not because I don’t like other nut butters, but because other nut butters are double the price of peanut butter and this girl’s on a diet AND a budget), and I have tofu almost twice a week.

She also says to limit caffeine to one cup of coffee a day. Not a chance.

  • Jillian says to eliminate alcohol, and while I see the benefits of a totally alcohol free lifestyle (I lost the most weight when I stopped drinking altogether) and I’m definitely¬†cutting back to one night of drinking a week, I am part of a social group that goes for $3 pitchers on Wednesdays and likes a bottle of wine or two when we watch So You Think You Can Dance.
  • Jillian’s diet plan includes a lot of lean meat, and I’m a vegetarian, so I’m gonna have to adjust around that.

You can find updates on my Body Rev journey under the Body Revolution button at the top of the page.

This girl’s off to keep chipping away at her to do list.

This entry was posted in Body, General Lifestyle and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

