Annie’s Kitchen

The other day my lovely friend (and loyal reader) Annie said to me, “I have this fantasy that your blog will get a lot of readers and they’ll get to know all your friends as characters in your lives and then sit around and say ‘Oh, I’m totally an Annie, and you’re definitely an Alex, and they’re so Conor.” You know, like how Sex and The City watchers label themselves and their friends as characters on the show.

So on tonight’s post, meet a prominent character in my life: Annie. We became friends a little over a year ago when Alex was in his first year at UVA, and we’ve gotten especially close since I moved to the 434. She’s literally my only girl friend in Charlottesville, so I go to her when I’m all testosteroned out.

Glamour shot.

Annie likes long walks around Grounds, Ina Garten, all things London-y, and making modge-podge drinks with rum, wine, raspberries, and other questionable ingredients.

“This is the kind of cooking I REALLY like.” -Annie

I have a lot of favorite things about Annie. She never makes me feel bad about my guilty pleasures like loving Diet Coke, being excited about the Baz Luhrman Great Gatsby remake, drinking entire pots of coffee in one sitting, and watching an obscene amount of Television (not TV, Annie would like me to specify; capital-T Television is an art). She’s also a foodie. So tonight when she texted me asking if she could come over and cook me dinner there was not even a question.

Annie made a really delicious pesto/tomato/zucchini dish.

HOW IT’S MADE:
-Pint of grape tomatoes
-3 zucchini
-1 clove of garlic, minced
-2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil, plus another 1 tbsp for the pesto
-Large handful of basil leaves
-Juice of half a lemon
-1/4 cup pecorino cheese
-Red pepper flakes (optional)
-Salt and pepper to taste
In a large sauté pan, brown garlic in olive oil over medium heat. Add tomatoes and red pepper flakes, and cook until the skin on the tomatoes blisters slightly. Meanwhile, use a vegetable peeler to slice the zucchini into pasta-like ribbons. Once the tomatoes look like they’re about to pop, add the zucchini and combine. To make the pesto, blend basil, olive oil, cheese, and lemon in a blender. Add water if it’s too thick. Pour the pesto in sauté pan with the zucchini and tomatoes and toss together. Serve hot with a little extra basil, cheese, and a squeeze of lemon on top.
Serves 3

It was SoOoOoOoO good. The perfect fresh summer meal. And totally guilt free and full of veggies.

Also, check out those beautiful candle things behind my wine! One of my best friends, Allison, made them as a house warming gift for me and Alex.

I’m a lucky lady, with all these chef friends.

For our post dinner entertainment? So You Think You Can Dance!

This entry was posted in General Lifestyle and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

