Weekend Recovery

This was the best weekend. Ever. Apurva’s birthday on Saturday night…

If I remember correctly, this was a cookie cake.

Starr Hill’s Monticello Reserve Ale for the host, Conor

…to an impromptu beach trip with Alex and Annie on Sunday morning.

Roughly 6 million people at the beach.

A little pit stop by Alex’s house in Richmond to visit with his parents and get fed some GOOD food.

Miss Debbie’s salad was SO good… Arugula, watermelon, balsamic, parmesan, and walnuts. Very refreshing.

But no good weekend goes unpunished… I usually spend my weekends getting my life back on track after a hectic week, but this weekend was non-stop play. When we got back from the beach/Richmond, I was greeted by the world’s biggest pile of dishes left over from baking and getting our beach picnic together on Saturday.

Thank goodness my rockstar roommate volunteered to do some for me. He cleaned for almost a half hour and there’s still some left to do. :/ (Also, shout out to Alex for finishing his Couch to 5k program early and moving on to training for a 10k!)

The dishes were just the start to my stress today, though. It was the busiest work day I’ve had since I started, and I couldn’t stop thinking about how much stuff I had to do outside of work.

Here was my “tackle the pile of stress” tactic: I made a list of all the things that were stressing me out, and then I put bullet points under them of all the proactive things I could do to ease my stress a little. Here’s what I came up with:

1. Millie [she’s been having some trouble letting me know when she needs to go to the bathroom which results in liiiiitle bit of a mess…]

  • Try having Millie sleep in the kennel
  • Take her for a longer walk in the morning

2. My health

  • Create an updated fitness chart
  • Focus on closing the kitchen down after dinner to prevent snacking
  • Sign up for a 10k with Alex and Annie

3. Money

  • Look for babysitting jobs
  • Be more conscious about small “no-big-deal” purchases

4. The apartment

  • Clean off back porch [it’s still in disarray from the storm a few weeks ago]
  • Use a magic eraser on the walls in the kitchen

5. Preparing for the GREs [only a month away!]

  • Create a study schedule and stick to it

6. Time management

  • Utilize my Google Calendar more effectively
  • Early to bed, early to rise
  • Focus on not going out until the weekend

Creating a succinct little list like that made my stressors seem SO much more manageable, and I really feel ready to tackle a lot of the things that have been weighing on me. Sometimes just acknowledging what’s on your mind makes it seem a lot less horrifying.

Hummus/avocado/goat cheese/veggie wrap with grapes and Amy’s veggie barley soup (and a jar of iced tea!) tonight….

…followed by a run, Week 3 of Body Revolution, and chipping away at that list!

This entry was posted in General Lifestyle, Mind and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend Recovery

  1. somethingbeany says:

    Hey girl, heyyy!

    I notice a lot of cville babysitting jobs on the sites I use (sittercity & care.com). I think sittercity has a membership fee, but I am not sure how much it is, but if you use this link then i technically ‘referred’ you and I get an amazon gift card (with which to buy our next book club book, duhhh!) http://buzzwat.ch/laure04

    I am pretty sure that care.com is free.

    No matter which you use, PLEASE DON’T GET ABDUCTED. Love you, lady.

Leave a Reply

