Just a Thought: What Gilmore Girls Has to do With Food and Entitlement

Last weekend I had a conversation about one of my favorite shows, Gilmore Girls. Instead of talking about all the wonderful things about the show (and boy is there a list), we were talking about how frustrating it is that Lorelai and Rory seem to have a bit of an eating problem. Those ladies eat the CRAPPIEST food, in the most obscene quantities.

The junk food binges alone aren’t that big of a deal, but the most frustrating thing is that (here I am saying this in the most exasperated tone ever) LORELAI AND RORY ARE SO TINY.

And so is Paris, who frequently eats her emotions away.

And none of them exercise. In fact, I seem to recall a couple episodes where Lorelai and Rory lol at fitness altogether. Remember the one where Paris has a vendetta against their freshman roommate at Harvard because she’s an athlete that wakes up before dawn to work out?

This is so irritating to me. I WISH I could follow The Gilmore Girls Diet  and look like Loralai Gilmore. Bitch has some ripped arms. (Still not as ripped as Michelle Obama, who is, I’m sure, a total clean eating role model.) But I know that if I (or anyone else in the whole world) were to eat like that, I’d look and feel…unsavory.

What’s kind of funny is that Sookie, the only heavy main character, is the only one with any sort of understanding about good food.

Look, I understand that it’s television and it’s not 100% realistic. But I’ve seen the “I-Am-A-Fun-Quirky-Girl-Who-Is-Honest-About-Loving-Junk-Food-And-Hating-Exercise” trope a million times, and I think it’s a little dangerous.

In all other ways, the Gilmore ladies could be seen as role models and people to emulate. They’re smart, funny, driven, and kind. But I think it’s a tricky moral grey area to suggest that women (or men, but this is a show about…well…girls) can eat like that AND look like that.

In my mind, deprivation is what you feel when something you’re entitled to is withheld. People feel deprived on diets, or just in healthy lifestyles, all the time…but what makes us feel entitled to junk food or excessive portions?

There are a number of things, I’m sure. But I’m a big believer that media, including shows like Gilmore Girls, make us feel entitled to food and portions like that. And we’re upset and bitter when eating like Lorelai and Rory doesn’t result in us looking like Loralai and Rory.

In a related point, I had a friend in college that professed to being really turned off by vegetarian girls because he liked girls who would chow down on bacon cheese burgers and pitchers of beer with him. But on the other hand, he was very critical of heavy women. Drove. Me. Nuts.

What do you guys think? Have you experienced women being held to unrealistic expectations when it comes to having a laid back health philosophy, but having a Victoria Secret model body?

 

This entry was posted in Body, Mind and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Just a Thought: What Gilmore Girls Has to do With Food and Entitlement

  1. Kelly says:

    “…he liked girls who would chow down on bacon cheese burgers and pitchers of beer with him. But on the other hand, he was very critical of heavy women.”

    Guys like this KILL me. Dude, we ALL wish we could eat junk food while looking like a supermodel, but it’s just not realistic. If it was, we’d all be doing it.

    I’m definitely not opposed to downing bacon cheeseburgers and pitchers of beers now and then. But as a regular thing? You’d better be eating totally kickass the rest of the time, or working out like a crazy person, if you plan to keep that up past your teen years and still keep your weight down.

  2. Kelly says:

    I feel like I should clarify a little – I don’t mean to say that all teenagers can eat whatever they want and do nothing during your teen years, but just that the people who CAN do it are usually younger.

    • I completely understand what you’re saying… there’s such a fine line between being cool and laid back regarding food, and being careless. Sometimes guys just don’t understand that.

      And thanks for clarifying. 🙂 I definitely wasn’t that kind of teenager, but I spent a lot of time looking forward to the day when my friends’ metabolisms slowed down.

      Also, thanks for commenting because it turned me on to your blog!

  3. Alison says:

    Oh so very true!!!! I linked over from “BTHR” and I resonate with this very much. As I commented on BTHR, I LOVE “Gilmore Girls” but the way they eat is horrible. I have honestly sat and thought, “Oh, I wish I could eat like that and not gain a pound.” But seriously – why would I? Small or not, eating like that can clog up your arteries and make you feel like a slug. As you mentioned, it’s not like the show is real, but still – it definitely portrays a very realistic element of the eating culture in North America.

    • This is such a great point! Saying “I wish I could eat like that” is totally neglecting one of the MAIN reasons I like to eat healthy food and exercise- it makes me FEEL good.
      Maybe what’s even less realistic than the Gilmore girls’ slim shapes (given their diet) is their pep and energy?

Leave a Reply

