Borrowed Wisdom

You know how sometimes you go to someone for advice, and you pour your heart out to them only to have them respond, “Oh yeah, that sucks…”?  I even have several friends who will just straight up say, “I don’t know what to tell you” when I go to them for advice. I know I can’t get angry about that, cause at least they’re being honest, but I hate being left hanging when I’m asking for guidance from someone I respect.

All of my friends are good at giving advice about certain topics (Suzanne, for instance, is basically my only peer I would trust to give me professional advice), but there are two people in my life that always have good advice about any topic: My dad and my friend Lauren. Sometimes I think that I’ve already heard all that needs to be said about everything (I’m practically a professional advice-seeker), but every time I talk to them I’m floored by how incredible their minds are and that they always manage to say something inspiring and unique.

By way of example: My dad is the only person who has ever been able to convince me that maybeeee organized religion is a good thing, and Lauren is the girl that brought me “love languages” (everyone says “I love you” in different ways…who knew?!). Brilliant people, I tell ya.

It was a bit of a rough weekend for me and body image, so I called the two people who I knew would be honest and say the right thing, and since they’re both such advice-giving geniuses, I thought I’d share some of their wisdom that put me right back on track:

Best advice from my dad: When I was complaining about my lack of energy to exercise or resist cravings, my dad suggested waking up earlier. This might seem counter-intuitive, but he pointed out the very true fact that the sleep you get after hitting the snooze button really isn’t good sleep. In fact, the more times you hit the snooze button, the more you’re probably screwing up what sleep you did get. I’m better off getting 5 good hours of sleep than I am getting 5 good hours plus a 6th really crappy hour.

Being up early means I have time to move my body a little before the day starts. This morning I did a 15 minute workout that I found on Pinterest, and just jumping around and listening to music made me so excited to get my day started. Not to mention I’ve already revved up my metabolism for the rest of the day.

My sweet daddy also said he’d start calling me at 6:30 so I could hear his voice first thing in the morning, and so he could remind me about why I wanted to be up that early in the first place. Love that dude.

Best advice from Lauren: I was talking to Lauren about how I would be so disappointed in myself and so embarrassed if I gained back what weight I have lost over the past year. She reminded me that people aren’t drawn to skinny people. People are drawn to cool people. A good example of this can be found in my TV-show-of-the-moment, The Hills. (Leave it to me to draw real like connections from asinine TV shows.). Lauren and Heidi are super beautiful and thin, but my god are they dull and horrible. Like, none of you would actually want to hang out with them, right? Plus, I sometimes get all weepy about being single but if looking like them attracts the like of Brody/Spencer/Justin-Bobby, then I’d rather look like the mom in Here Comes Honey Boo Boo. Her husband seems great.

Anyway, Lauren reminded me that I need to have confidence that my personality is enough. After that, the taking care of my health part is something I do for myself. I like to work out and eat right because it makes me, like my anatomy and guts and stuff, feel good, and I lose motivation when I do it because I’m worried about what others will think.

So with her advice in mind, I let myself spend the morning dancing around to Robyn and cooking a colorful breakfast: Egg whites with onions and peppers (topped with goat cheese!), and a perfect peach on the side.

Hard to feel bad when you’ve got a peach like that. Nom nom nom.

Best advice from me: Invest your time in finding an outstanding support system. You’ll be glad you did.

EXCITING THINGS HAPPENING TONIGHT!!!

This entry was posted in Body, Soul. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Borrowed Wisdom

  1. Olivia Cavalieri! says:

    My parents always said a colorful meal was a healthy one 🙂

  2. I’ve been watching The Hills too!

  3. GUTS!!!!

    This post makes my insides as colorful as that beautiful peach.

Leave a Reply

