New Additions

This week has been sparse on blog posts because I’ve been busy celebrating the homecoming of one of my best friends….NATE!!!!

New years 2011… Wowza.

I’ve had an amazing summer with all of my new friends, but there’s been a noticeable lack-of-Nate. He’s been, I kid you not, biking across the country all summer, making intermittent stops to build homes for the homeless. Whatta goody-goody.

Credit goes to Nate for making this is profile picture.

I actually am so proud of Nate, and I admire the strength that it must have taken to make this kind of journey. But I am so freaking happy to have him back. Nate was one of the people who was most encouraging and supportive of me when I first decided to change my life and get healthier. I’ve seriously missed having him around as a pillar of support, sounding board for my irrational worries, and his pop song belting skillz.

Anyway, now that Nate is back (with huge thighs and a sexy, sexy farmer’s tan), I’ve been spending the week playing with him!

On Tuesday, Alex’s mom came up and cooked us a delicious dinner one night.

There’s that farmer’s tan I was talking about.

And one night we brought Nate to Baja Bean for traditional $3 pitchers (and a couple of tequila shots to celebrate the big two-one that he hit on the trip).

Need to perfect the art of taking photos in the dark after a few drinks.

And then last night we all stayed in and watched The Hunger Games, which was really fun for me because Alex hadn’t seen it and I was excited to see how he liked it. He loved it, of course, because Peeta.

There’s been a whole bunch of new things going on recently! Nate’s not technically new in my life, but he is new to my life in CVille. And all the UVA students are back in town for school on Tuesday, which means my parking lot is super full and my apartment complex is gonna be bumpin’ tonight.

I also started on one of the MANY home improvement projects I’ve been meaning to get to. I used a coupon and got 10% off some cool fabric to start giving our bar stools a makeover.

I’ve still got to sand a spray paint the metal part of the chairs, but I’m just touching them up in the same white color so that can wait a while.

I’ve also got a new little violet that was a gift from one of the people I work with.

And now that I’m finished with The Paris Wife (not my cup of tea, but the book club gals loved it!), I’m moving on to Swamplandia!, one of the finalists for the Pulitzer Prize in fiction this year.

Heidi and Spencer arguing in the background.

My running playlist has also seen some new additions!

My FAVORITE running song right now is “The Bathtub” from the Beasts of the Southern Wild soundtrack. It’s instrumental, but I’ve never felt more focused on a run then when I run to that song.

Tonight is the first Saturday with all the UVA students back, so it’s definitely going to be a wild one. I haven’t decided yet if I’m going to hide in my room or if I’m gonna get all “If ya can’t beat ’em, join ’em” tonight. 🙂

Happy weekend!

This entry was posted in General Lifestyle. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

